Gena01.com Forum
December 15, 2017, 06:44:31 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Win32Pad 1.5.6  (Read 56154 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
myroslava
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2004, 11:30:40 am »

Quote (Gena01 @ Oct. 13 2004,08:39)
Quote (myroslava @ Oct. 13 2004,03:58)
You place the cursor at the end of one line, hit enter, but on this new line the cursor is not at the beginning on the line, but indented at about 10 spaces. This happens only once after you open the file, - after that, all line insertions are OK.

Turn off auto-indent.

Gena01

But autoindent works like indenting the new line at the number of empty spaces at which the previous line is indented. My lines are NOT indented, thus this is a bug which happens only once at the first editing instance. It is not critical actually, but I thought I should mention it.
Logged
Gena01
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 423



WWW
« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2004, 03:08:25 pm »

Quote (myroslava @ Oct. 13 2004,12:30)
Quote (Gena01 @ Oct. 13 2004,08:39)
Quote (myroslava @ Oct. 13 2004,03:58)
You place the cursor at the end of one line, hit enter, but on this new line the cursor is not at the beginning on the line, but indented at about 10 spaces. This happens only once after you open the file, - after that, all line insertions are OK.

Turn off auto-indent.

Gena01

But autoindent works like indenting the new line at the number of empty spaces at which the previous line is indented. My lines are NOT indented, thus this is a bug which happens only once at the first editing instance. It is not critical actually, but I thought I should mention it.

mmm.. can you e-mail me the file and the exact steps to reproduce it?

Thank you.

Gena01
Logged
Guest
« Reply #17 on: October 14, 2004, 06:56:29 am »

My problem is with printing.  I have to look at many text reports that are printed with fixed columns.  Everything displays great but when printing it looses it's formatting.  It's not printing in Courier of a fixed font so everything gets squished to the left and nothing lines up.  Can you modify it to print in Courier or a fixed font or give me the option to do that.  Otherwise I think it's great, but now when I need to print a report I have to copy it to notepad or something to preserve the formatting.

Thanks
Jim
Logged
therube
Full Member
***
Posts: 118



« Reply #18 on: October 14, 2004, 11:48:03 am »

Good point (the printing).
Why does it do that?
Logged
Guest
« Reply #19 on: October 15, 2004, 06:36:11 am »

I have the following isse:
My operating system is Windows 98SE. My default language is Slovak, but I also use English.
When I use the fixedsys font, and I press Shift-Alt to change from Slovak to English (because I need to type a character that is not available in the Slovak keyboard layout), the font in win32pad also changes from fixedsys to Arial. This is kind of annoying visually, and this change is maintained after saving and re-opening the file.
This is not a problem when I select one of the True Type fonts. But I'm sort of used to fixedsys, and would like to keep using that one.
Thanks for any suggestions.

Ivan
Logged
redips
Newbie
*
Posts: 2



WWW
« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2004, 10:45:39 am »

An idea, someone had before me and I hope it will be included in nex version (1.5.7):

Replace tabs, CR, LF, ecc.. :
Link to the post...  :D

many tnx!!!
Logged

Redips.
Guest
« Reply #21 on: November 03, 2004, 06:03:30 pm »

I really like how simple and straightforward the application is, so I hesitate to make this suggestion, but what about adding the ability to have multiple edit windows with tabbed access.
Logged
henrik
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #22 on: November 04, 2004, 02:18:10 am »

I just noticed that whenever I open a file with Win32Pad it adds it to My Recent Documents. I would like an option to make it possible to not do that.
Logged
Gena01
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 423



WWW
« Reply #23 on: November 04, 2004, 09:31:54 am »

Quote (henrik @ Nov. 04 2004,02:18)
I just noticed that whenever I open a file with Win32Pad it adds it to My Recent Documents. I would like an option to make it possible to not do that.


Uncheck "Recent Files" in Options.




Logged
henrik
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #24 on: November 04, 2004, 12:28:51 pm »

Quote (Gena01 @ Nov. 04 2004,15:31)
Uncheck "Recent Files" in Options.

I have tried that, it did not work. Whenever I open a file with Open... it adds that file to Recent Files.
I use win32pad 1.5.6 on WinXP SP2
This is my settings:

[Config]
WordWrap=1
HighlightURLs=1
AutoIndent=1
TabSize=3
Font=Verdana
dwEffects=0
FontColor=0
CharSet=0
BackColor=16777215
FontSize=200
Search=jag
Replace=

[View]
AlwaysOnTop=0
Statusbar=1
Toolbar=1
SavePosition=1
RecentFiles=0
SelectionBar=1
LineNumbers=1
FullPath=1
TabsToSpaces=0
DNDNewWindow=0
MinimizeToTray=0
EscapeExit=0
FileChange=0
left=1
top=0
right=1023
bottom=740
WindowState=3
Logged
Guest
« Reply #25 on: November 05, 2004, 11:37:41 am »

Good soft !

suggestions: You already put hypertext for web address.
Why not now, with e-mail address, on different color Wink
so direct access for web address (already) & e-mail address
will be TOP !

Thanks for your good job!
Logged
Gena01
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 423



WWW
« Reply #26 on: November 06, 2004, 03:16:21 pm »

Quote (henrik @ Nov. 04 2004,12:28)
Quote (Gena01 @ Nov. 04 2004,15:31)
Uncheck "Recent Files" in Options.

I have tried that, it did not work. Whenever I open a file with Open... it adds that file to Recent Files.
I use win32pad 1.5.6 on WinXP SP2
This is my settings:

[Config]
WordWrap=1
HighlightURLs=1
AutoIndent=1
TabSize=3
Font=Verdana
dwEffects=0
FontColor=0
CharSet=0
BackColor=16777215
FontSize=200
Search=jag
Replace=

[View]
AlwaysOnTop=0
Statusbar=1
Toolbar=1
SavePosition=1
RecentFiles=0
SelectionBar=1
LineNumbers=1
FullPath=1
TabsToSpaces=0
DNDNewWindow=0
MinimizeToTray=0
EscapeExit=0
FileChange=0
left=1
top=0
right=1023
bottom=740
WindowState=3

Works fine here.. can you e-mail all of it? include the screenshots.. include the about box in the screenshots.. as well as the recent.. before and after... as well as the ini file used..

Gena01
Logged
Guest
« Reply #27 on: November 07, 2004, 03:20:45 pm »

Are any translation projects for this awesome application?... I speak English, but having localized versions would be great for people who don't.
I'm not a programmer, but if I there's something I can do for this, let me know. I'd help with the Spanish localization.
Logged
Guest
« Reply #28 on: November 09, 2004, 03:28:18 pm »

I have mailed this already but i do not know if it has been marked as spam so just to be sure you get it.

I found some little problems and have got some suggestions how to improve the program. My main test file have been Pi at 100000 digits.
 
1. Line numbers are not displayed correctly when you selcet a big font combiened with a large file. For example "MS Reference Sans Serif" size 14 over 1000 lines.
 
2. Another more important display problem is when you open a large files and scroll down using the mouse capturing the scrollbar. The program has not read the complete file yet, it only displays a part of the file. You have to click in the file to display the rest of the file and another click is necessary to display the line numbers. (Tested with 1000+ lines / Celeron 700Mhz / 256MB RAM / on board graphics card).
 
3. There is no possibility to change the color of the cursor, selected text and HTML references. So in many color combinations the named components are insufficiently visible or just not fitting the desired style.
 
4. There is no display for the length of selected text without counting special, unvisilble formating symbols (line feed,...).
 
5. I have found no possibility to display formating symbols.
6.After disabling recent files, the old recent files are still stored in the "win32pad.ini".
 
7. When you open many instances of win32pad, add in one some favorites, close it and than close another instance where you have not add these favorites they are not saved.
 
8. Selecting HTML references and copying them by context menu of the right mouse button only the clicked is copied and not the selection.
 
9. There is only a tine right context menu clicking HTML references,  particularly no cut support. I know that you can work with the toolbar but some people prefer context menus.
 
10. This regards disabled Word Wrap, and is just cosmetically.
When you have got a long string filling a whole row and at least one more sign in the next row. Than you set the cursor left of the sign in the following row, push left cursor key. The cursor jumps before the last sign in the previous row and you have to use the scrollbar to display the last sign.
 

Some more suggestions:
11. I would be helpful to have the possibility to highlight found text like in firefox for example. And to be able to select the highlighting color. Black/Yellow is a good combination i think.
 
12. Possibility to disable the saving of last search string.
 
13. Perhaps for the future tabs would be useful also like in mozilla firefox. But I do not know how the performance would look like.

So that is what I have found, I hope the editor keeps that fast and perhaps you can use some of my remarked points.
 

greets
Markus
Logged
Guest
« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2004, 10:28:21 am »

I use Chinese Traditional Labguage

When i copy a string

it cannot past to other place(i.e. forum)
Logged
Tags:
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!