Gena01.com Forum
December 16, 2017, 03:27:50 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Tags Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Win32Pad 1.5.8  (Read 41320 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Gena01
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 423



WWW
« on: July 14, 2005, 10:04:47 am »

Please report feedback on Win32Pad 1.5.8 in this thread.

Things coming in later releases:
- Better printing support. (Stay tuned a rewrite is in progress)
- More fixes and improvements.
- Other exciting stuff.

Please please check for any regressions and report any problems/bugs you find.

Thank you.

Gena01
Logged
Guest
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2005, 03:04:27 am »

First of all I'm very happy to see, that Win32Pad writes program settings to the users application directory. Thank you.

One thing that still annoys me though, is that start menu shortcuts are placed in the directory for the user who installed the application. This means that only the user who installed Win32Pad will have easy access to the program from the start menu. Start menu shortcuts should be placed in the %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Start Menu\-folder. This way all users on the system have easy access to the program. I hope you will fix this. Thanks.
Logged
Guest
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2005, 03:57:40 am »

Quote (Guest @ July 16 2005,04:04)
This means that only the user who installed Win32Pad will have easy access to the program from the start menu. Start menu shortcuts should be placed in the %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Start Menu\-folder. This way all users on the system have easy access to the program.

nope the installer should ask if the app should be installed for all or the active user and upon that decide where to put the startmenu-icons - everything else doesnt make sense Martin :D :p

@Gena01: thx for the continued work on Win32Pad - Its definitve the best notepad replacement there is! :D
Logged
Guest
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2005, 12:14:19 am »

Really happy to find Win32Pad, which loads large file so fast.
But its copy&past doesn't work well with chinese characters sometimes. I tested it in English file, and it works fine.
I can give you a test file:
\xA3\xB9
which is the character "9" in chinese.
if you have any question in chinese encoding, can reach me by niry AT_NOSPAM nlp.nju.edu.cn
I really like your Win32Pad, and will be glad if it can work well in chinese context.
Logged
Guest
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2005, 10:12:14 am »

Hi Sir,
I have face a issue when cute and past in Win32Pad.
i am not sure it's limitation or what, so~ just report to you..

OS: WinXP SP2
Install AP: Microsoft AppLocale.msi
Issue: in open file have some chinest string, can't properly Cute and Past to other AP.

hope it have solution...
BTW, WinPad32 is useful utility!! Thanks!!
Logged
Guest
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2005, 02:47:50 am »

One feature why I use notepad is unicode/utf-8 files support (on load/save and on copy/paste).

Do you have plans to add this to Win32Pad?
Logged
Guest
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2005, 11:41:58 am »

Ive been using win32pad for a long time now, ut I have one problem... It doesnt support the euro symbol €
does anyone know how I can add this?

thanks

Richard
Logged
therube
Full Member
***
Posts: 118



« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2005, 01:20:32 pm »

Printouts, aka File | Print...

Win32pad defaults (I believe) to using the Fixedsys font.
That is they way that I have always had it set.

Yet when a file is printed out, printouts look like they are printed in Arial.

And therefore, the screen display, does not resemble the printed output.


What determines, or what should determine the font/format used on the printout?
Logged
Guest
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2005, 04:26:37 pm »

Quote (therube @ Aug. 04 2005,14:20)
Printouts, aka File | Print...

Win32pad defaults (I believe) to using the Fixedsys font.
That is they way that I have always had it set.

Yet when a file is printed out, printouts look like they are printed in Arial.

And therefore, the screen display, does not resemble the printed output.


What determines, or what should determine the font/format used on the printout?

* I will have to agree here.

Can you please add an option to select FONT for entire text file viewing so I can choose NEW COURIER, which I (was) using for Windows NOTEPAD ?

Thank you.
Logged
Robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2005, 02:43:53 am »

Quote (Richard @ July 30 2005 @ 18:41)

... It doesnt support the euro symbol € does anyone know how I can add this?


Just copy the character from charmap.exe and paste it into win32pad. Works for me, no problem at all!

Just remember that the font you are using must support the euro sign also.

As for printing; I use Lucida Console (which is a non scalable font like Courier New) and printing works fine.

Good Luck
Robert
Logged
therube
Full Member
***
Posts: 118



« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2005, 10:19:53 am »

Quote
I use Lucida Console (which is a non scalable font like Courier New) and printing works fine.

You are correct.  That does print out fine.
But I'd hate to have to switch to it just to print something out.
Wonder why Fixedsys does not?  Maybe it's a bug?
Logged
Robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2005, 05:11:36 am »

I guess I have to quote myself on that one (Don't say I told you so ;-)...

Quote (Robert @ Aug 17 2005 @ 09:43)

Just remember that the font you are using must support the euro sign also.


Just checked using good old charmap.
The Euro sign is a Unicode character (20AC).
Click the checkbox with caption "Advanced view" and you will notice that you cannot select any Unicode characters when FixedSys is selected. Hence, FixedSys is not a Font that supports Unicode characters and you will not be able to use the Euro sign using FixedSys.

I guess we could say "This behavior is by design". (I can't say it's a bug)

Work Around
Set Lucida console as your default Font and you will never ever have to switch Fonts again.
You could try setting the FontStyle to Bold if you like. It pretty much resembles the FixedSys font :-)

Good Luck
Robert
Logged
Guest
« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2005, 07:39:28 pm »

If i use the right click menu the Indent is grayed out and it also makes Indent grayed out from the Edit menu.
If i restart the program Indent works from the Edit menu again ... until i use the right click. ???

Windows XP Pro SP1
Logged
therube
Full Member
***
Posts: 118



« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2005, 01:20:31 pm »

Looks like you're correct.
It would have never occured to me, as I always use the TAB key for an Indent.


PS:  SP1. You really should update to SP2.  And at the very least, you should be up to date with all of MS's critical updates - even if you do not install SP2.
Logged
Lotesdelere
Newbie
*
Posts: 14



« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2005, 12:47:00 pm »

Quote (therube @ Aug. 25 2005,20:20)
PS:  SP1. You really should update to SP2.  And at the very least, you should be up to date with all of MS's critical updates - even if you do not install SP2.

All M$ updates are still available for XP SP1.

Although you can't use the WindowsUpdate site anymore with SP1 but you can download the updates from this page:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/current.aspx

:<img src="http://www.gena01.com/forum/Smileys/default/wink.gif" alt="Wink" border="0" />:
Logged
Tags:
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!