Gena01.com Forum
December 13, 2017, 04:27:53 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Tags Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Win32Pad 1.3 failed to view .nfo files correctly  (Read 21904 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
jobodine
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« on: May 07, 2003, 12:27:50 pm »

After seclecting the font "Terminal" , size 9 , I opened a .nfo file . It was opened in a mixed fonts : some part in  Terminal font, another part in an entirely different font.  If I went to "Options"->"Preferences..."  and clicked on "OK" in the Font popup  the .nfo file was then shown correctly.

__If I closed the .nfo file and opened it again , the same problem re-emerged !  Why Win32Pad could not save the default Terminal font ? Is there something special about this peculiar font ?

_It's interesting to note that 99% of text editors I have used, experience this same issue.  The only exception I found so far is  in SkimEdit v3.01 .

Please advise and explain this bizzard behavior . Thanks
Logged
Gena01
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 423



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2003, 10:02:29 am »

Hmm.. I know I fixed some issues with the Terminal font... can you e-mail me the .nfo file that is a good testcase for this. Maybe with a few screenshots, your computer O/S and a step by step scenario so that I could reproduce and fix this.
Logged
Gena01
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 423



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2003, 10:19:03 am »

Thanks for the e-mail. I did manage to spend some time figuring this out. The interesting thing is that when you reload the file from disk the graphics disappear.

I am still not sure of how to fix this. The problem seems to be with riched20.dll Also if I don't set the "character set"/language/script for the font, then the file is shown without the graphics. I am still thinking of the best way to cleanup my font and color related code.

To be continued....

Gena01
Logged
jobodine
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2003, 01:09:21 am »

I think you might be correct . It could be the riched32.dll that caused this problem. Here is the reason for my haunch  :

_ "Edxor v1.60" had the same problem as Win32Pad 1.3  if I removed riched32.dll ( version : 4.0.835.1381 ) from the installed program  directory .

_If I left riched32.dll in, Edxor v1.60  viewed .nfo correctly.

I am just curious what version of riched32.dll did you use in Win32Pad 1.3  ?
Logged
Gena01
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 423



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2003, 09:20:56 am »

Quote (jobodine @ May 12 2003,02:09)
I think you might be correct . It could be the riched32.dll that caused this problem. Here is the reason for my haunch  :

_ "Edxor v1.60" had the same problem as Win32Pad 1.3  if I removed riched32.dll ( version : 4.0.835.1381 ) from the installed program  directory .

_If I left riched32.dll in, Edxor v1.60  viewed .nfo correctly.

I am just curious what version of riched32.dll did you use in Win32Pad 1.3  ?

I know that i had various issues with different versions of riched20.dll In some cases there were obvious bugs present where I added workarounds to make the program work better. The funny thing was that I saw the same workarounds built by other people, including the people writing MFC libraries at M$.

I am using riched20.dll ( 5.30.23.1209 ). I don't use the dll that you specified, that one is a bit older as does not have many of the features.

Gena01
Logged
Guest
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2003, 11:35:20 am »

I wonder if there is a way in Win32Pad 1.3 that allows me to select <riched32 4.0.835.1381>  rather than <riched20.dll  5.30.23.1209 >.  I am am curious if this will make a difference ?
 I kind of like the scheme Edxor 1.60 used : if the user prefer a different version of riched32.dll  than the default version, he can simply add that .dll file into the installed program directory.  Please comment. Thanks,
Logged
Gena01
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 423



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2003, 11:50:52 am »

Quote (Guest @ May 12 2003,12:35)
I wonder if there is a way in Win32Pad 1.3 that allows me to select <riched32 4.0.835.1381>  rather than <riched20.dll  5.30.23.1209 >.  I am am curious if this will make a difference ?
 I kind of like the scheme Edxor 1.60 used : if the user prefer a different version of riched32.dll  than the default version, he can simply add that .dll file into the installed program directory.  Please comment. Thanks,

You just can't replace riched20.dll with riched32.dll since it just won't work and will break many programs that use it. It's not just the filename it's also the window class names and the features that riched20.dll provides.

Gena01
Logged
Tags:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!